The King of Red Lions’ Pride

“If only I could do things over again…  Not a day of my life has gone by without my thoughts turning to my kingdom of old.  I have lived bound to Hyrule.  In that sense, I was the same as Ganondorf.  But you… I want you to live for the future.  There may be nothing left for you… but despite that, you must look forward and walk a path of hope, trusting that it will sustain you when darkness comes.

Farewell.  This is the only world that your ancestors were able to leave you.  Please… forgive us.”

“W-wait!  You could… you could come with us!  Yes of course..  We have a ship!  We can find it.  We WILL find it!  The land that will be the next Hyrule!  So…”

“Ah, but child… That land will not be Hyrule.  It will be YOUR land!”

I remember not being very interested in Wind Waker at first.  You tried encouraging me to play it, but I was more content with my head in your lap looking up at the flickering of the t.v. reflect across your eyes.  Your room was dark and cold, but you weren’t.  I wasn’t.

When you left me, I reflected on a lot of my memories of you (if not all of them!), and I knew that someday I would play Wind Waker for myself.  I would finish something we started, something you wanted me to enjoy the way you had enjoyed years earlier.  The way you recanted the final boss battle with Ganondorf was enough to at least make me Google Image the magnificient sword embedded between the savage’s eyes.

He was turned to stone and drowned with the world he once envied.  His ideals, lost to the winds and forgone by virtues of wisdom and courage. And though Ganondorf perished with the world he fought to change, it is the King of Hyrule’s words quoted in the opening narrative.  It is the King that yearns to sleep with the Hylian canon, and insists that the children of the Triforce achieve what Ganondorf could not.

I played Wind Waker, xxxxx.  Just like you wanted me to.  I played it all the way through, and even sought after sidequests, which you know I was never partial to.

I played Wind Waker and now I ask of you, is it possible that I have been dying with our kingdom, per se?  Am I fading with my memories?

Though likely flourishing in your own reality, our world has been torn asunder; our paths diverged.  In my reality, you have drowned at the mercy of a sea of change, ceasing to ease breath into my tempest of regret and yearning.  You have perished, but I still stand helpless amidst the waves.

Is it my dying wish to be lost with our memory?  Do I desire to be a martyr unto new horizons?

I beat Wind Waker for us, xxxxx.  And though you may think it silly to draw such worldly comparison, I have accomplished something that I thought were as lofty a dream as the King of Red Lion’s pride, itself.  I have found a word within myself that simply says “no” to the question I asked of you earlier.

No, I have not faded with my memories.  “I have scattered the seeds of the future…”

The King of Hyrule's spirit-imbued boat used to traverse the seas of change and contemplate what they bring.

The King of Hyrule’s spirit-imbued boat used to traverse the seas above his kingdom and ferry the one with the winds of courage.

Leave a Reply

